Subsection 1.- Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Colonel the Honourable Sir Leonard Outerbridge is the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province; he was commissioned on Aug. 17, 1949.

The Legislative Assembly has 28 members elected for a term of five years.

The Premier and each Cabinet Minister receives a salary of \$7,000 per annum plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. Each Member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. An additional allowance of \$2,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

2.—Legislatures of Newfoundland since Confederation and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1953

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
(A) 2	1st General Assembly 2nd General Assembly		July 13, 1949 Mar. 12, 1952	Nov. 3, 1951 1

Legislatures, 1949-53

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1953.

First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 26, 1951: 22 Liberals; 4 Progressive Conservatives; 2 vacant.)

Nore.-Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Economic Development	Hon. J. R. SMALLWOOD Hon. L. R. CURTIS. Hon. H. L. POTTLE. Hon. W. J. KEOUGH. Hon. E. S. SPENCER. Hon. J. N. CHALKER. Hon. C. H. BALLAM. Hon. P. S. FORSEY. Hon. S. J. HEFFERTON. HON. MYLES P. MURRAY. HON. MYLES P. MURRAY. HON. F. ROWE. HON. P. J. LEWIS.	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 4, 1949 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 Apr. 4, 1950 Apr. 4, 1950 July 29, 1949 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 May 21, 1952	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 4, 1949 July 29, 1949 July 29, 1949 Dec. 23, 1952 Apr. 4, 1950 Dec. 23, 1952 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951

Subsection 2.-Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable T. W. L. Prowse, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office on Oct. 4, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 86.